Al Green

Posted: November 12, 2010 in Chocolate Martini Nights

Image of Chocolate MartiniI’m only 29 but I appreciate Al Green. The classic melodies, the voice makes me warm and fuzzy on the inside. Calls to mind those big family barbeques, summer holidays, and driving down the 405 freeway commuting to and from my last year of university. Recently I’ve come to digest the lyrics. Really feel what Al was wailing about.

Another day at my shitty job, another shitty fight with my mother, and another shitty story from my best friend about her 5th relationship (4 months into the year) left me completely drained. I popped open a bottle of wine, turned on the radio, and by the time the bottle was empty I was crying and singing about how I was so fucking tired of being alone and holding my own.

I wanted to be kissed, touched, hell even lied to if it made me feel better. Screw doing the right thing…I was ready to be screwed.

Leave a Reply

